HealtheX 2021 Conference Booklet

HealtheX 2021 Award Winners

On behalf of the HealtheX 2021, we would like to thank the presenters, judges, and attendees both staff and student alike, for contributing to the 15th anniversary of the HealtheX Conference.

Congratulations to the following winners!

Doctoral Oral Presentation Awards

Auckland Medical Research Foundation (AMRF) Outstanding Emerging Researcher & Best Doctoral Oral Presentation Award

Robyn May – A computational model to identify cardiovascular remodeling related to prematurity and predict later cardiovascular risk

Liggins Institute and Auckland Bioengineering Institute

Supervisor: Dr. Soroush Safaei


AMRF Doctoral Oral Presentation Runner Up Award

Wenxuan Chen – IGF signaling mediates lymphatic vessel growth in zebrafish

Department of Molecular Medicine and Pathology

Supervisor: Dr. Jonathan Astin


Second Runner Up Doctoral Oral Presentation Award

Risa Takahashi – Understanding the Innate Immune Response to Group A Streptococcus Pili

Department of Molecular Medicine and Pathology

Supervisor: Dr. Catherine Tsai

Non-Doctoral Oral Presentation Awards

Best Non-Doctoral Oral Presentation Award

Caitlin Jardim – Osteoarthritis: Uncovering gene expression differences between the sexes

Department of Pharmacology and Clinical Pharmacology

Supervisor: Dr. Raewyn Poulsen


Non-Doctoral Oral Presentation First Runner Up Award

Doris Zhang – The Impact of COVID19 Lockdown on Chinese Care Homes in New Zealand

Department of Psychological Medicine

Supervisor: Dr. Gary Cheung


Non-Doctoral Oral Presentation Second Runner Up Award

Agrani Ratnayake Kumar – Ethnicity, deprivation, and access to endoscopic sinus surgery

Department of Surgery

Supervisor: Dr. Andrew Wood

Poster Presentation Awards

Auckland Medical Research Foundation Best Poster Presentation Award

Phoebe Burns – Investigating the influence of hypoxia on cGAS-STING signaling in macrophages

Auckland Cancer Society Research Centre

Supervisor: Dr. Dean Singleton


Poster Presentation First Runner Up Award

Gabrielle Sebaratnam Can psychological factors and colonic motility predict postoperative complications? An observational pilot study

Department of Psychological Medicine

Supervisor: Dr. Elizabeth Broadbent


Poster Presentation Second Runner Up Award

Delshad Kalantry – In vivo fibre photometry in freely behaving mice: A technique to measure hippocampal neuronal activity

Department of Anatomy and Medical Imaging

Supervisor: Dr. Andrea Kwakowsky

3-Minute Elevator Pitch Presentation Awards

Maurice and Phyllis Paykel Trust Best Elevator Pitch Presentation Award

Jenna Keepa – Atrial Fibrillation after cardiac surgery; An analysis of New Zealand Cardiac Surgery Registry data

School of Nursing

Supervisor: Dr. Cynthia Wensley


FMHS-Post Doctoral Society First Runner Up Elevator Pitch Presentation Award

Michael Pudjihartono – Functional interpretation of enhancer mutations driving the onset and progression of melanoma

Liggins Institute

Supervisor: Professor Justin O’Sullivan


FMHS-Postgraduate Student Association Second Runner Up Elevator Pitch Presentation Award

Marvin Liu – Visualisation of PEGylated Nanocarrier for Thymopentin in Immunodepression Modulation

School of Pharmacy

Supervisor: Associate Professor Jingyuan Wen